Four Disasterous Dinners

DISASTEROUS DINNERS

Thanksgiving will be here soon. My favorite holiday and I remember the first dinner I made when I became a newlywed. Parents, hubby’s and mine, gathered in the dining end of the living room and hubby carried the beautifully browned bird to the table. I had been worried about my mother-in-laws opinion of my cooking. She had been cooking and baking since she was twelve when her mother passed away and she became the cook for her father, two working older brothers and a younger sister; a job at which she excelled.
My hubby flourished the knife, stuck the two-pronged fork (a set given as a wedding present) into our first turkey and began to carve. Halfway through dinner I realized I had never removed the giblets or the neck. They were still in the little bag stuck in the cavity. Fortune smiled-no one noticed.
The second misadventure happened when my hubby invited long-time friends from his dance class to dinner. It was spring and asparagus beckoned. I trimmed the stalks and rinsed but not enough-the sand remained. Ignored by all. It took a few years and many more dance classes before that dinner was mentioned. Hey-that’s what friends are for and it said dancers have iron stomachs.
Friday-in the days when Catholics just permitted fish-no meat allowed I invited two close friends for dinner and hubby spent hours extracting the meat from lobsters. I made a delectable salad and placed the bowl in the fridge. A few hours before dinner – horror of horrors – I opened the door of the fridge and placed a bottle of white wine on the same shelf. The bowl of lobster slid out of the fridge and smashed in fragments. Lobster, mayonnaise, celery and glass all lay in a shiny, glop of a mess on the kitchen floor. My poor guests had tuna fish that night.
Then there is the tale of Lasagna. Vegetable Lasagna with Marinara sauce – baked ahead and frozen. Misreading the directions, I baked the dish for one hour and served. Still frozen. I checked the directions. When frozen-bake for two hours.
Forget about my cooking and learn more about my writing – please log on to http://www.elisewarner.com My cozy, mystery eBook titled Scene Stealer is available at http://www.barnesandnoble.com, http://www.amazon.com, http://www.borders.com, http://www.carinapress.com
Carina Press: Your next great read!

And wherever eBooks are sold. An audio version has been produced and is available through http://www.audible.com
Listen to a Bestseller for $7.49 at audible.com!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Four Disasterous Dinners”

  1. Liz Fichera Says:

    Elise, I’m impressed with your effort! My mother ruled the kitchen and, unfortunately, did not really pass along her cooking skills to her daughters. Whenever I have to cook for large groups, I get nervous beyond belief. If only I had paid better attention in home ec courses in school! And thank god for crock pots.

  2. Elise Warner Says:

    I can replicate (have the recipes) my Mother-in-law’s cheese cake and noodle pudding but have never managed the rice pudding. The last recipe calls for a smidgen of this or that and a touch of something or other. Of course everybody has a different smidgen and touch. I tend to cook Italian-thank heaven for Italian friends.

Leave a Reply

